The purpose of the FETC IT TECHNICAL SUPPORT qualification is to build a foundational entry into the field ... Show more
0 reviews
  • Description
  • Curriculum
  • Reviews
SICTA 12MonthTechSupportQualidication Facilitated Logo


The purpose of the FETC IT TECHNICAL SUPPORT   qualification is to build a foundational entry into the field of Computer Sciences and Information Technology, specifically into the field of Systems Support, covering basic knowledge needed for further study in the field of Systems Support at Higher Education Levels.


This qualification runs over 12 months and includes 44 instructor-led (virtual classroom) training days. For classroom attendance please contact us to enquire.

Target Audience

People pursuing a career in the computer industry, or related fields. The FETC IT TECHNICAL SUPPORT qualification provides the learner with the flexibility to articulate in the IT environment with a wide variety of specialisation options and articulation within the Telecommunications, Information Technology, and Electronic Industries and other industries where IT is a key component, like the Financial Services Industry.


• It is assumed that the learner is already competent in maths and communication at NQF Level 3 or higher.

Learning Outcomes

Post FETC IT TECHNICAL SUPPORT qualification, a learner will be able to:

  1. Communicate effectively with fellow IT staff & users of information systems.
  2. Demonstrate an understanding of different types of computer systems and the use of computer technology in business.
  3. Demonstrate an understanding of problem-solving techniques, and how to apply them in a technical environment.
  4. Demonstrate an understanding of Computer Technology Principles.
  5. Select and use materials and equipment safely for technological purposes.
  6. Work effectively as a team member within a support team.
  7. Carry out, under supervision, a small-size task to demonstrate knowledge of techniques & skills needed in one or more of the following areas of majoring/specialisation: • Hardware and Infrastructure Support for Personal Computers • Hardware and Infrastructure Support for Office Products • Data Communications and Network Support.


• The fundamental modules to a total of 56 credits are mandatory • The Core Modules to a total of 77 credits are mandatory • The elective component consists of several specialisations. Learners are to choose a specialisation and complete unit standards totaling 30 credits from those listed for the specialisation. The default specialisation is “Hardware and Infrastructure Support for Personal Computers”. • Any learner wishing to be assessed to achieve credits in respect of any of the unit standards specified in this qualification may arrange for an RPL assessment.

Business Communication
installation maintenance and upgrade of computer hardware and software