FETC IT Systems Development NQF 4

Boni Gantile
0 reviews
  • Description
  • Curriculum
  • Reviews
SICTA 12MonthSysDevQualidication Facilitated Logo


IT Systems Development NQF 4 is a Further Education and Training Certificate  IT Systems Development SAQA ID 78965 at NQF Level 4 with a  Minimum of 165 credits. This qualification builds a foundational entry into the field of Computer Sciences and IT, with the main focus on Systems Development. A qualifying participant at this level will be a well-rounded entry-level Systems Developer with a good fundamental knowledge of the IT field, in preparation for specialization in Systems Development.


The minimum duration is 12 months which includes instructor-led (virtual classroom) formal training and experiential learning.

Target Audience

Persons who are pursuing a career in the computer industry particularly a specialisation in Systems Development, or related fields. People with this qualification can function in entry-level computer programming roles.


A learning assumption of this qualification is foundational skills in English and Mathematics at NQF level 3. Further learning assumed is the ability to use a personal computer competently, and competence in the unit standard, “Participate in formal meetings”, NQF Level 2 (ID 14911)

Learning Outcomes

  1. Communicate effectively with fellow IT staff & users of information systems.
  2. Demonstrate an understanding of different types of computer systems and the use of computer technology in business.
  3. Demonstrate an understanding of problem-solving techniques, and how to apply them in a technical environment.
  4. Demonstrate an understanding of Computer Technology Principles.
  5. Demonstrate an understanding of Computer Programming Principles.
  6. Work effectively as a team member within a development project environment.
  7. Carry out, under supervision, a small size task to demonstrate an understanding of the knowledge, techniques & skills needed to understand the fundamentals of Computer Programming.